Skip to content

Academic calendar



Academic calendar for doctoral studies - 2019-2020 academic year [PDF]

Start and end of the academic year

The academic year at the UPC starts on 1 October 2019 and ends on 30 September 2020. Therefore, theses deposited before 30 September 2020 correspond to the 2019-2020 academic year.

Applications for admission

Interested parties may apply for admission to a doctoral programme from 1 September 2019 to 24 July 2020, in accordance with the specific admission calendar set by the academic committee of the programme.

The academic committees may rule on admissions for applications submitted for the 2019-2020 or 2020-2021 academic year, without distinction, depending on the number of places on the programme.

(Further information: New doctoral candidates > Admission)

Enrolment for the academic year

Enrolment for new students

The first enrolment in the doctoral programme must be done in the period specified in the decision on admissions.
Unless otherwise stated, enrolments corresponding to decisions on admissions issued after 15 April 2020 must be done within the ordinary enrolment period for the 2020-2021 academic year (for second and subsequent enrolments).

Ordinary enrolment period (second and subsequent enrolments)

Ordinary enrolment period: from 23 September to 18 October 2019.

NOTE: The enrolment schedule outlined in this document provides the general timeframe in which the enrolment process should be completed. The specific deadlines for each stage in the enrolment process will be set by the units that manage each doctoral programme.

Doctoral thesis deposit

In addition to holidays, theses may not be deposited between

  • 2019-2020 Academic year: from 29 to 31 July 2020.

Public holidays



15 August

11 September
12 October
1 November
6 December

25 December
26 December

1 January

6 January
10 April

13 April
1 May

24 June
15 August

NOTE: Each school, department and programme will also be affected by local holidays not included in the list above.

Non-teaching periods

The non-teaching periods in the 2019-2020 academic year are the following:

  • Christmas: from 22 December 2019 to 3 January 2020
  • Easter: from 6 April to 9 April 2020
  • Summer: from 1 August to 31 August 2020


With regard to elections, non-teaching periods are holidays, in accordance with Article 32.3 of the UPC’s election regulations. In addition to these dates, is also considered a holiday:

Course 2019-2020: the period from 1 to 31 July 2020 (in electoral terms only ).