Skip to content

You are here: Home / School / Governing and representative bodies / The Standing Committee

The Standing Committee

Photo of the Standing Committee of the Doctoral School

The Standing Committee, which is chaired by its director, is the School Board's executive and permanent representative body.


  • To ensure that these regulations and the Board’s agreements are complied with.

  • To regulate the use of the Doctoral School's name and its corporate identity, within the framework of the University's regulations.

  • To set up the consultation committees that are deemed necessary.

  • To draft the Doctoral School's strategic plan, within the framework of the University's strategic planning.

  • To design and implement the quality assurance system for monitoring activities and the results of the doctoral programmes.

  • To approve the settlement and distribution of the budget allocated to the Doctoral School every year.

  • To authorise the economic items needed to cover infrastructure and maintenance costs that are not allocated in the annual operating budget.

  • To ensure that the Doctoral School's operations are fluid, in accordance with prevailing regulations.

  • To set doctoral students' cross-disciplinary training activities and also regulate activities that may be of interest in their research training.

  • To facilitate the recruitment of doctors by companies and promote the internationalisation of the doctoral programmes.

  • To assess the effectiveness of policies on predoctoral grants and financial aid and, if necessary, make proposals to improve them.

  • To propose the composition of the examination committees for doctoral theses to the rector for his approval, subsequent to the report of the academic committee of the doctoral programme in question.

  • To count the votes for the cum laude mention or delegate this task to another body.

  • To rule on the calls for special doctoral awards.

  • To establish the procedures for the recognition of training activities and other aspects of training for researchers.

  • To establish the procedures for conflict resolution in doctoral studies.

  • To promote actions that enable the Doctoral School to be managed and to execute its strategic plan.

  • To propose the nomination of an honorary doctoral degree holder to the Governing Council.

  • To propose initiatives and aspirations and express an opinion on issues that affect the Doctoral School and its environment.

  • To propose collaborating bodies that may participate in the Doctoral School's activities to the Board.

  • To participate in the recruitment, training, assessment and promotion of the Doctoral School's administrative and service staff, under the terms established in the Statutes.

  • To propose items to be included in the agenda for the Board's meetings.



Ex officio members

Elected members

  • Dr Manel Espino, coordinator of the doctoral degree in Environmental Engineering.

  • Dr Carlos Marmolejo, coordinator of the doctoral degree in Urban and Architectural Management and Valuation.

  • Dr Olga Muñoz, , coordinator of the doctoral degree in Signal Theory and Communications.

  • Héctor López, doctoral candidate of the doctoral degree in Signal Theory and Communications.

  • Dr Lluïsa Quevedo, coordinator of the doctoral degree in Optical Engineering.

  • Dr María Isabel Achaerandiocoordinator of the doctoral degree in Agri-food Technology and Biotechnology.

  • Dr Toni Dorado(open in new window), coordinator of the doctoral degree in Natural Resources and Environment.